The first day of the inaugural GCB U15 Euro Festival got underway today under cloudy skies with forecasts threatening rain by late afternoon.

At College Field Ed Giles picked up the first wicket to fall after Jersey had won the toss against Netherlands and bowled and, soon he had another as the men in orange fell to 28/3. At 38/4 Will Jones behind the stumps had 3 catches to his name. Rain was now in the air and caused a brief stoppage either side of which Netherlands moved to 67/6.

The rear-guard then began a resistance effort that saw the total reach 111/8 before the Giles/Jones partnership got in the act again. The rain was now getting steadier and, whilst Jersey managed to get the final 2 wickets leaving Netherlands 147 all out and, despite an early lunch, there was no break to allow any more play.

Over at KGV hosts Guernsey faced Denmark with the boys in red winning the toss and inserting Guernsey who made it to 22 without loss before they lost Fin Piper. This was followed by a steady fall of wickets as 6 more went for only 30 runs and at 52/7 things did not look great. Subhan Khan, Musa Mahmood and Zeshan Aslam taking two wickets apiece.

Home skipper Ed Miller though was prepared to dig in and with Miles Hardill he found an able partner as the pair put on 87. Ed eventually fell for 43 from 100 balls and, soon after Miles went for a patient 30 from 88 balls which signalled another quick loss of the final 2 wickets. Guernsey were thus all out for 144 which at one stage had seemed very far away. Abdul Mahmood finished with 3/10. The rains though started to fall heavily as Denmark went out to bat and in the end forced an abandonment.

The forecast is for persistent rain on Tuesday so the decision has been taken to re- schedule the Wednesday rest day and the new schedule is:

Wednesday, 2 August
  • Jersey v Holland College Field
  • Guernsey v Denmark Port Soif
Thursday 4 August
  • Guernsey v Jersey KGV
  • Denmark v Holland Port Soif
Friday 5 August
  • Jersey v Denmark KGV
  • Guernsey v Holland Port Soif

The title will thus be based upon a straight round robin league with points then NRR to decide final positions.