Rain badly affected the first round of the National Cup but there was no shortage of drama in the games that did manage to get on the park.

Nowhere more so than in the clash between Cliftonville and Sion Mills where Cliftonville would have been the strongest of favourites after scoring an imposing 206 for 5 in 26 overs. Johnny Terrett scoring a 100, Neil Cahill hitting 65 and Mark McNulty taking a hat-trick.

The real drama came however when Cliftonville were unable to produce a DLS sheet, which left the umpires no option but to award the game to Sion Mills.

Balbriggan have a good track record in the National Cup and they progressed with a five wicket win at home against Killyclooney - who reached the final themselves in 2014.

Roger Kear took 3 for 17 as Killyclooney were dismissed for 199 - Derek Lynch top scoring with 41 and new professional Andre Henry making 35.

Ehtesham Ahmed's 69 and James Warsop's 40 set Balbriggan on their way to the win - all the more impressive given the absence of John Mooney.

Holders Rush began the defence of their title with a comprehensive seven wickets home win against Downpatrick. Amit Patil top scored with 84 as the NCU side posted 200/7 in the 35 over contest. It was nowhere near enough as half centuries from Shahid Iqbal (61*) and Stephen Doheny (52) ensured their name goes into the hat for the second round draw.

North Kildare edged through against Bonds Glen by two wickets in a tense affair at The Maws while Laois progressed after Saintfield were unable to field a side and forfeited the contest.

Academy had reached 61 for 2 against Newbuildings when rain forced an abandonment. That match will be played at Foyle next Sunday May 15.

All the other matches were abandoned without a ball bowled and will be replayed next Sunday May 22.


Laois v Saintfield - match awarded to Laois.

Balbriggan beat Killyclooney by 5 wickets.

Killyclooney 199 (44.0 overs, D Lynch 41, A Henry 35, R Kear 3-17, K Bilal 2-19, M Farrukh 2-28)

Balbriggan 202-5 (42.5 overs, E Ahmed 69, J Warsop 40, M Gordon 2-36)

Rush beat Downpatrick by 7 wickets. 

Downpatrick 200-7 (35.0 overs, A Patil 84, J Wade 30, D Brogan 3-37, S Gull 2-31)

Rush 204-3 (S Iqbal 61*, S Doheny 52, L Jansen 34, M Yeates 2-31)

North Kildare beat Bonds Glen by 2 wickets.

Bonds Glen 98-8 (34.0 overs, G Boyd 25, I Ul-Haq 3-21, M Singh 3-22)

North Kildare 119-8 (T Britton 2-19)

Academy v Newbuildings - no result.

Academy 61-2 (21.0 overs)

Cliftonville lost to Sion Mills. Clitonville failed to produce DLS sheet

Cliftonville 206-5 (26.0 overs, J Terrett 100, N Cahill 65, M McNulty 3-26)

Burndennett v Woodvale - match postponed.

Ballyspallen v Greystones - match postponed.

Creevedonnell v Civil Service (LCU) - match postponed.

Glendermott v Lurgan - match postponed.

County Sligo v Limerick - match postponed.

Bangor v Dundrum (LCU) - match postponed.

Armagh v Terenure - match postponed.

Cork Harlequins v Ballaghaderreen - match postponed.