Hong Kong A have finished unbeaten as they won the East Asian Men's T20 Championship after beating Japan and China on the final day today.

The opening match of the day saw Japan win the toss and choose to bat at the Mission Road ground. Captain Masaomi Kobayashi top scored for them with 41 from 28 balls, but only three other members of the side were able to reach double figures. Waqas Barkat bowled superbly, taking 3-5 from his four overs as Japan were bowled out for 102.

Hong Kong A lost Ninad Shah for just 5, but that was the only wicket taken during their run chase. Raag Kapur led the way with 60 from 45 balls as the home side completed a nine wicket win with 5 overs to spare.

The home side again lost the toss in the afternoon game against China, but this time found themselves batting first. They started well with Raag Kapur and Giacomo Lamplough putting on 118 for the opening wicket before Kapur retired out after the 12th over having scored 68.

Lamplough reached 50 from 35 balls before he too retired out, whilst Waqas Barkat clubbed 41 from 15 balls as Hong Kong A made 223-5 from their 20 overs.

Lamplough then completed a fine all-round performance, taking 4-5 as China were bowled out for 45, losing by 178 runs. Pu Xianlang and Chen Jinfeng were the only batsmen to reach double figures.


Hong Kong A beat Japan by 9 wickets
Mission Road Ground, Mong Kok, 2 November
Japan 102 (19.4 overs, M Kobayashi 41, Waqas Barkat 3-5)
Hong Kong A 104-1 (15 overs, Raag Kapur 60*)

Hong Kong A beat China by 178 runs
Mission Road Ground, Mong Kok, 2 November
Hong Kong A 223-5 (20 overs, Raag Kapur 68, G Lamplough 50, Waqas Barkat 41)
China 45 (16.1 overs, G Lamplough 4-5)