Canada have won Division One of the Americas Championship after beating old rivals USA in the final match of the tournament.

The two sides had already qualified for the World Twenty20 Qualifier, but there was still the matter of regional pride to play for as the hosts won the toss and chose to field first at the World Sports Park in Indianapolis. They removed Rizwan Cheema in the second over of the Canadian innings.

Following that wicket, Nitesh Kumar and Ruvindu Gunasekera put on 60 for the second wicket before Kumar was out for 25. Gunasekera was the fourth man out at the end of the 16th over having scored 54. The Canadians scored 30 from the last four overs to take their total to 127-6.

Fahad Babar - who was later named tournament MVP - was the only bright spot for the USA batting line up. He scored 33 before he was stumped. The USA were kept to 104-8 from their 20 overs and lost by 23 runs.

Earlier in the day, Suriname repeated their last day win over Bermuda from the 2013 Americas Championship Division One tournament. Batting first after winning the toss, Bermuda were restricted to 99-7 from their 20 overs, with Wasim Akram - not THAT one - the pick of the bowlers with 3-15.

Akram was also the top scorer for Suriname, making 39 before he was run out. Mohindra Boodram and Shazam Ramjohn put on an unbeaten 35 for the fourth wicket to complete a seven wicket win. It wasn't enough, however, to lift Suriname's net run rate above Bermuda's, and they finished fourth and will be relegated to Division Two.

USA and Canada now prepare for the World Twenty20 Qualifier in Ireland and Scotland in July. They will be amongst 14 teams in the tournament, with the 14th team to be confirmed after the conclusion of the ongoing European Championship Division One tournament, which concludes on Thursday.


USA lost to Canada by 23 runs
World Sports Park, Indianapolis, 9 May
Canada 127-6 (20 overs, R Gunasekera 54, T Patel 3-20)
USA 104-8 (20 overs)

Suriname beat Bermuda by 7 wickets
World Sports Park, Indianapolis, 9 May
Bermuda 99-7 (20 overs, Wasim Akram 3-15)
Suriname 103-3 (19 overs, Wasim Akram 39)