Cricket South Africa has launched the Africa T20 Cup, which will feature 13 South African provincial sides in addition to the national teams of Zimbabwe, Namibia and Kenya.

The tournament, to be initially held between 4 September and 4 October, will see the 16 teams divided into four groups of four, with the group winners progressing to the semi-finals. Kenya are drawn in a group with Free State, South West Districts and Gauteng, whilst Namibia will play alongside Griqualand West, KwaZulu Natal and Eastern Province.

Unlike the current provincial tournaments - which Namibia participate in - the provincial sides will be able to field four players from the top tier franchise sides, including one South African international player. The majority of the group games and the knock-out stage will be televised.

Cricket South Africa chief executive Haroon Lorgat said that the organisation was "keen to lead the way in developing an Africa-wide competition" and tournament ambassador Makhaya Ntini said that "The development of African cricket is something that is very close to my heart and I welcome this important initiative.

The launch of the tournament was not without incident though, as the tournament logo - displayed in several places across the stage - had the name of the tournament misspelled as the "Arfica T20 Cup".

The incorrect logo was briefly the subject of much humour on social media, with Cricket South Africa joining in as they apologised for the mistake, hoping that they'd given everybody "a good (l)arf", before they revealed the correctly spelled logo.