Jersey Evening Post logoTHE Jersey Cricket Board's 14-player squad for their World Cricket League Division V tournament in Nepal next month was announced this morning.

There are five changes to the squad which represented Jersey in Tanzania for the World Cricket League Division IV tournament in 2008; the newcomers are 2009 NatWest Weekend League Cricketer of the Year Dean Morrison, JEP Young Cricketer of the Year Charles Perchard, Ian Crocker, Sam de la Haye and Tom Le Lièvre.

The nine who played in Tanzania and retained for the Nepal tournament are Ryan Driver, who will captain the team, Peter Gough (vice-captain), Matt Hague, Bobby Minty, Andy Dewhurst, Jonny Gough, Sam Dewhurst, Ben Stevens and Anthony Kay.

On standbye for the tournament, which will be played in Kathmandu between 20 and 27 February, are reserves Aidan McGuire, Tim de la Haye, Steven Blackburn and Alex Noel.


Ward Jenner, JCB chairman of selectors, said: ‘This well balanced squad is a blend of experience and youth and includes eight genuine all rounders with three spin bowling options.

‘This will give the squad much needed flexibility in Nepal where the conditions are relatively unknown.'

Team manager Chris Minty, who will accompany the Jersey squad to India for their three pre-tournament games and then on to Nepal together with JCB chairman Keith Dennis, coach Craig Hogan and sports therapist Jason Carpenter, said: ‘The players are started to get excited now that they know how is going and I'm sure it is going to be a wonderful experience for everyone, not just for the cricket but on the cultural side too.

‘It was promised that youngsters would be included and the selectors, coach and captain have been true to their word.'

The squad's ages range between 16 and 35 with nine under 25. The majority of the reserves are all products of the Jersey Cricket Development programme.

Selectors were: Ward Jenner, Chris Searson, Craig Hogan and Ryan Driver.