The match schedule for the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup 2010 has been confirmed. This 16-team tournament, which is seen as an important breeding ground for the next generation of senior international cricketers, will take place in New Zealand from 15 to 30 January.

Defending champion India will open its campaign against qualifier Afghanistan in front of the ESPN Star Sports (ESS) cameras at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, near Christchurch on the opening day of the competition with Pakistan facing the West Indies in Palmerston North and 2008 beaten finalist South Africa taking on Ireland in Queenstown.

In total, the ICC's broadcast partner ESS will televise 10 matches, including both semi-finals and the final, and beam the action live around the world.

The 16 teams are split into four groups with Groups A and C being based in and around Christchurch, Group B teams playing their matches in Queenstown and Group D games taking place in Napier and Palmerston North. In addition to the 10 Full Members, there are six Associate and Affiliate teams taking part, having won through their respective regional qualifying tournaments as well as the global qualifier, which was held in Canada in September.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the quarter-finals with the remainder of the teams taking part in the plate competition.

The groups are as follows:

  • Group A: India, England, Afghanistan, Hong Kong
  • Group B: South Africa, Australia, Ireland, USA
  • Group C: New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada
  • Group D: Pakistan, Bangladesh, West Indies, Papua New Guinea