Ireland's premier knock out Cup competition reaches its finale for the 28th time on Friday at Milverton, Skerries with a starting time of 12 noon.


Making the short journey from their Dublin base are Leinster who will be appearing in the final for the 4th time but as yet have not won the coveted trophy. Representing the North West Union for the 2nd successive year are Co.Tyrone kingpins Donemana who have contested a total of 5 finals with one solitary win to their credit when they defeated arch rivals Limavady in 2000 at Beechgrove by 3 wickets.


Leinster under the astute captaincy of Anton Scholz qualified for Friday's decider with something of a surprise win over well fancied Limavady by 8 runs in a rain affected game decided by the D/L method. Despite struggling in the lower regions of their domestic League all season they have considerably upped their game in Irish Cup matches and accounted for other highly regarded sides such as Clontarf and Lisburn in earlier rounds. Opening batsman Mark Jones who is playing in his 3rd Irish Cup final is an accomplished performer while Peter Johnston ,if selected, will be playing in his 5th Irish Cup final 2 with Railway Union and 2 with Leinster. Overseas player Barbadian Carlos Brathwaite has been hampered recently with a back injury but club officials are hopeful that he will be fit to bowl even at a reduced pace.


Donemana go into the game with an outstanding chance of a magnificent double at their mercy. The North West Cup is already safely in place in the cabinet at the Holm. The Villagers are well used to this type of pressure and are guaranteed a huge support in their quest for the Double. The famous McBrine family are well represented in the side with the twins James and Junior aided by Junior's son Andrew currently part of the Irish Under 17 line up.


This promises to be a closely fought contest between two sides who have not met previously in this competition but no doubt will have the utmost respect for each other on the big stage. I narrowly favour Donemana to take another step towards a memorable season and gain recompense for last years defeat at the same stage.




Leinster from:-

Anton Scholz (capt), Mark Jones ,Craig Mallon, Will Lennon, Carlos Brathwaite, Hugh MacDonnell, Rob Kenealey, David Lucas, JP O'Dwyer, Andy McConnell, Peter Johnston, Ian O'Herlihy, Rob Miller



Arid Shaffique(capt), Alec (Junior) McBrine, James McBrine, Andrew McBrine, Richard Doherty, Richard Kee, Gavin Boyd, Stephen Dunn, Darryl McGarrigle, Dale Oliphant, Jason McGonigle