The ICC has confirmed the dates and venues of several of its forthcoming development events.

The ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier will take place in the United Arab Emirates from 9 to 13 February. This eight-team event featuring Associate and Affiliate sides vying for the two places on offer at the ICC World Twenty20 2010 in the West Indies will be played entirely at Dubai Sports City.

It had provisionally been planned for October 2009 but as a result of an availability issue with the venues, the teams unanimously approved February as the best alternative option. The format of the event will feature two groups of four teams, each playing three matches with the top two in each group meeting in a Super Four round, finishing with a final between the top two sides.

The groups were devised by virtue of seedings from the previous ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier, which was won jointly by Ireland and the Netherlands and, for the teams not participating in that event (Afghanistan, UAE and USA) on latest one-day rankings.

As such (with the seedings in brackets), Group A consists of Ireland (one), Scotland (three), Afghanistan (six) and the USA (eight) while Group B includes the Netherlands (two), Kenya (four), Canada (five) and the United Arab Emirates (seven). The exact match schedule will be announced in due course.

The first qualifier will go into Group C of the ICC World Twenty20 2010 along with South Africa and India while the second qualifier will join West Indies and England in Group D for the big event which runs from 30 April to 16 May 2010 in Guyana, St Lucia, St Kitts (women's) and Barbados.

Next month, the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup Qualifier takes place in Canada. The event will run from 1 to 13 September in the Toronto area with 10 teams competing for the six remaining places at the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup 2010 which will be staged in New Zealand from 16 to 30 January.

The 10 teams in question have already progressed through regional qualifiers and so Canada, USA (Americas), Ireland, Netherlands (Europe), Sierra Leone, Uganda (Africa), Afghanistan, Hong Kong (Asia), Vanuatu and Papua New Guinea (East Asia-Pacific) will all be looking to book their tickets to New Zealand.

The Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 6 will be held in Singapore from 29 August until 5 September with teams from Singapore, Guernsey, Malaysia, Bahrain, Botswana and Norway battling it out in one group across three venues, Kalang, Singapore CC and Indian Association. The top two teams will win promotion to Division 5. More details on Division 6 will be released shortly.

But speaking of WCL Division 5, the event is now confirmed for Nepal from 20 to 27 February 2010. The teams include host Nepal, Fiji, Jersey, USA and the two qualifiers from WCL Division 6.

Details of other forthcoming events will be announced in due course.