Cricket Canada announced a women's training squad recently. The squad will undergo training in Trinidad next month as they prepare for the Americas Women's Championship in Florida in May. The squad is: Joanna White (Captain), Meara Crawford, Helene Gaffney, Isabella Mengual, Ave Mogan, Monali Patel, Mona Persaud, Rachel Porteus, Yvette Singh, Vadeo Sproxton, Sheryl Tittlemier, Mikaela Turik, Maree Wilson, Deshanee Yahathugoda.

As for the Canadian men, Cricket Canada cancelled the planned tour of Zimbabwe, citing both concerns that Canada would not be able to field a competitive side and government advice on travelling to Zimbabwe.


Former captain of the India women's team Mamatha Maben will coach the Chinese women's team at the Asian Games cricket tournament next year. China reached the semi-finals of the Asian Women's Trophy in 2007, and the Asian Games will be their first tournament against Test playing opposition.

In addition, the Chinese Cricket Association won an award for the best development programme at the ACC Development Awards.


Ryan Driver has been named as the new captain of the Jersey national side. He replaces Matthew Hague who retired last year. Driver played first-class cricket for Worcestershire and Lancashire and began playing for Jersey last year after qualifying by residence. He works as a PE teacher at le Rocquier School.


Thirteen teams will be entering the Swedish national league this year, the most teams since the 1990s. The Swedish national side is set to play in Division Five of the European Championship in Corfu this year, their first international tournament since the 2001 ECC Trophy. They will play the hosts, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia and Turkey.


Academy Boys CC won the Dar es Salaam Twenty20 league after beating Aga Khan by 64 runs. The team were runners-up in the previous two seasons.