The International Cricket Council has confirmed the match schedule for the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 3 event, which will take place in Buenos Aires from 24 to 31 January.

Host team Argentina takes on Hong Kong on day one at Hurlingham while Papua New Guinea gets its campaign underway against the Cayman Islands at Belgrano Athletic Club and Uganda faces Afghanistan at Corimayo.

Afghanistan and Hong Kong, who progressed from WCL Div. 4 in Tanzania in October, go head-to-head on day two in what could be one of the games of the tournament.

In all, there will be 18 matches played over eight days with the final scheduled to take place on Saturday 31 January at the historic Belgrano ground.

The top two sides from this six-team event will win promotion to the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier, which will be held in South Africa next April. And in turn, the top four from that 12-team event, which incorporates WCL Divisions 1 and 2, will win a coveted place at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, the pinnacle of the limited-overs game.