The Saudara Cup continues to be the only regular multi-day international match amongst the non-test nations outside of the Intercontinental Cup, and this years match at the Kallang Cricket Club in Singapore has ended in a draw, meaning that Singapore retain the trophy thanks to their win last year.

Singapore batted first and despite 53 from Christopher Janik, the hero of Singapore's win over Afghanistan in WCL Division Five earlier this year, they were dismissed for 190 in 55.5 overs. But their bowlers fought back to dismiss Malaysia for just 106, Darmichand Mulewa taking 5/30.

Singapore batted better in their second innings, and reached 221/7 by close of play on the second day with Sajith Sivanandan unbeaten on 98. They put on nine more runs for the loss of another wicket the next morning before Sivanandan was caught trying to reach his century with a six after not adding to his overnight score.

Chaminda Ruwan then declared Singapore's innings closed, setting Malaysia a target of 315. With little chance of chasing the target down, Malaysia set stall to bat out the day and draw, especially after they lost four wickets. In the end though, rain rescued them and the match was abandoned as a draw with Malaysia on 60/4 in their second innings. Darmichand Mulewa was named man of the match for his five first innings wickets.

Singapore therefore retained the trophy that they won last year. There will be no arguments that they don't deserve the trophy, as they were clearly the best side in the match.

Singapore drew with Malaysia
Kallang Cricket Ground, 17-19 October
Singapore 190 (55.5 overs, C Janik 55, N Reddy 42, A Arudin 3/50) & 230/9 dec. (70.3 overs, S Sivanandan 98, S Rahim 4/52)
Malaysia 106 (53.5 overs, D Mulewa 5/30) & 60/4 (26 overs)