It has always been the tradition in Denmark to begin the season with the Danish Cup for teams from the top two divisions. This year was no exception with the first matches played at the end of April. In these there were no surprises so the two semi-finals were played on the 10th of May with Glostrup facing Svanholm and Herning against Skanderborg.

Glostrup's match against Svanholm was a rain affected match and showed up the shortcomings of the the Cup rules in rain conditions. The umpires letting the match continue until darkness prevailed instead of reducing the match overs. In the end Svanholm won on a higher scoring rate and looked like the worthy winners.

Skanderborg and Herning's match turned out to be a low scoring affair but close. Herning were below strength due to injuries but Herning had the services of Michael Pedersen who has been with MCC's Young Crickets and Skanderborg had Lejf Slebsager. Michael Pedersen's 30 was the mainstay of Herning's 103 while Lejf Slebsager took five wickets for just one run. Skanderborg however found the going uphill after losing Lars Hedegaard first ball. Only Carsten Pedersen made any impression with 27 while his brother Michael took 2 wickets for 5 runs in 8 overs. Skanderborg fell 6 runs short.

The final Svanholm against Herning was played at Svanholm Park on the 12th of May. The first final to be played on a grass wicket. Herning won the Cup last year and therefore were the defending champions. Herning batted first and got off to a bad start from which they never really recovered. Mogens Christiansen and Jakob Larsen was the only batsman making a mark and Mogens had to finish his innings with a runner after a muscle rupture. Herning made 134 and this turned out to be no problem for Svanholm winning by 8 wickets. Svanholm's new Australien player/coach Chris Hewey made 47.