British Columbia and Ontario A each won three matches with no defeats in the group phase of the Scotiabank National T20 Cricket Championship 2008 on Saturday at Maple Leaf CC, King City, Ontario. The deciding games on the opening day were British Columbia's win over Ontario B and Ontario A's solid win over Quebec.

British Columbia seemed to be storming to victory against an Ontario B side that included some experienced players and several Under-19 internationals. But 72 runs for no wicket and cruisingm but Canadian international Geoff Barnett was stumped and wickets began to fall. It took a six over deep mid-wicket by Steve Welsh in the final over to ease the pressure that had been imposed on the batsmen by some useful bowling. Two sensible singles and a win by 3 wickets with a ball to spare. BC then beat Alberta by 9 wickets and Nova Scotia by 28 runs. Barnett scored 56 runs not out against Nova Scotia.

Ontario A and Quebec each won its first match of the day. The fact that both teams won the toss and put the opposition in to bat on damp wickets, with rain falling at times, helped the causes of these teams. Quebec was bowled out cheaply by Ontario A won by 9 wickets.Asif Mulla (36 runs not out) and Trevin Bastiampillai (31 not out) took Ontario A to its third win of the day after Saskatchewan had made 73 runs for 9 wickets. This was also a 9 wicket win.

Quebec's Abdul Jabbar scored 83 runs in a win over Saskatchewan.

  • Group A Standings: British Columbia 3-0 (won-lost); Ontario B 2-1; Alberta 1-2; Nova Scotia 0-3
  • Group B Standings: Ontario A 3-0; Quebec 2-1; Manitoba 1-2; Saskatchewan 0-3
All eight provinces will contest the quarter-finals on Sunday morning (9am scheduled start). The line-up is:
  • British Columbia v Saskatchewan
  • Ontario B v Manitoba
  • Ontario A v Nova Scotia
  • Quebec v Alberta