The Royal Gazette masthead

Bermuda Cricket Board (BCB) are preparing to launch a new Twenty/20 competition for the coming season.

The Island will be divided into four zones: East, East Central, West and West Central. Each zone will have four teams who will play each other three times.

Those sides with the most points will then go on to compete in the semi-finals and finals to be held at the National Sports Centre.

"We're looking to start the Twenty/20 on April 26, with the semi-finals on May 4, and final and plate final on May 10," said BCB vice-president Allen Richardson.

"We're in talks to hopefully try to really bring the carnival atmosphere to the final. We're looking to hopefully have a big screen, and the company that put on movies at Horseshoe Bay are going to help us with that.

"We also are aiming to get some calypso music, some fun castles for the children, and plenty of food up there as well. It's going to be a really good day out."