The MCC tour of Argentina starts this weekend, and both sides named their squads recently, which will include a three match one-day series and a two-day games.

The MCC will be captained by Somerset's Peter Trego, whilst Estaban "Billy" MacDermott will retain the Argentinian captaincy. Argentina will be using the series to help prepare for Division Two of the Americas Championship in Suriname in April.

MCC Squad

  • Peter Trego (Captain)
  • Rob Wycherley
  • Richard King
  • Barry Wigley
  • Will Mottram
  • Rob Walker
  • Mark George
  • Rob Woods
  • Martin Laidler
  • Guy Bulpitt
  • Steve Gibson
  • Martin O´Reilly
  • George Brooksbank

Argentina Squad

  • Billy MacDermott (Captain)
  • Matias Paterlini
  • Gary Savage
  • Tommy Francis
  • Diego Lord
  • Steven Nino
  • Agustin Casime
  • Marc Roberts
  • Paul Ryan
  • Charles Gibson
  • Martin Siri
  • Donny Forrester
  • Bernardo Irigoyen
  • Paul Ferguson


Friday 1 February vs. Argentine Colts at Hurlingham
Saturday 2 February vs. Argentina at Corimayo
Sunday 3 February vs. Argentina at Virrey del Pino
Tuesday 5 February vs. ACA Presidents XI at Hurlingham
Wednesday 6 February vs. Argentina at Quilmes
Saturday 9 & Sunday 10 February vs. Argentina at Hurlingham (two day match)

In other news from Argentinian cricket, Cricket Argentina have confirmed that they will host Division Three of the World Cricket League in early 2009, which should give them a good chance of reaching the 2009 ICC World Cup Qualifier.