Alberta Provincial champions in 2006, Predators (Calgary & District Cricket League) beat Manitoba Cricket Association champions, Winnipeg Juniors, and then British Columbia champions Salim Akbar, to win the John Ross Robertson Trophy - Western championships over the Canada Day weekend.

Predators reached the final with a 54-run win. Predators were under early pressure, losing half their wickets for just 20 runs. Dav Sharma (30) and Muninder Bhogal (25) lead the recovery to an eventual 114 all out (42 overs).

Sharma then took 7 for 30 to destroy the Manitoba batting. Ronnie Bedesha chipped in with 3 for 25 as the opposition managed just 60 all out.

On Canada Day (July 1), Predators completed its quest to win the JRR by beating Salim Akbar. Predators again batted first, making 164. Naminder Sidhu and Muninder Bhogal each scored 35. Salim Akbar, who play in the British Columbia Mainland Cricket League, was then bowled out for 115, leaving Predators winners by 49 runs.