Chris Gayle has been confirmed as the West Indies captain for the quadrangular series against Ireland, the Netherlands and Scotland next month.

The West Indies will play all three ODIs in Dublin, on July 10 and 12 with Ireland their final opponents on July 14. The other three games take place in Belfast on July 11, 13 (Ireland v Netherlands) and 15 (Ireland v Scotland).

The series will be the Windies final act on their tour, the current Test match being followed by two Twenty20 internationals and three ODIs v England before they visit Ireland.

Gayle, the attacking opening batsman, will have Shivnarine Chanderpaul as his vice-captain of a 14-man squad which includes Lendl Simmons, a cousin of Ireland coach Phil Simmons, Dwyane Smith and Austin Richards, the latter, a 23 year old left handed batsman from Antigua, receiving his first international call-up.

Left out of the Test squad are Corey Colleymore, Jerome Taylor and stand-in captain Darren Ganga who was overlooked by the selectors in spite of him being the first choice of the WICB executive. Ganga was the board's nominee because they did not want Gayle in charge because of indiscipline.

As well as Gayle, Chanderpaul and Dwayne Smith, the other survivors from the West Indies team that beat Ireland in the World Cup at Sabina Park are Dwayne Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Dinesh Ramdin and Daren Powell.

West Indies squad:

  • C Gayle (capt)
  • D Bravo
  • S Chanderpaul
  • F Edwards
  • C Gayle (capt)
  • R Morton
  • D Powell
  • D Ramdin (wk)
  • R Rampaul
  • A Richards
  • D Sammy
  • M Samuels
  • L Simmons
  • Devon Smith
  • Dwayne Smith