Ryan ten Doeschate, the Netherlands and Essex allrounder, has been chosen by site visitors as CricketEurope's Player of the Year for 2006. He finished 258 votes ahead of Scotland middle order Batsman Neil McCallum. Ireland and Middlesex batsman Eoin Morgan was third.

ten Doeschate was undoubtedly the outstanding player in Associate Nations' cricket in 2006. He began by recording his maiden first-class century in the Intercontinental Cup match against Kenya in March, and then went on to win the Player of the Tournament award at the European Division First Championship in Scotland in August. His year was about to become even better as he made 138 and 100 not out in another Intercontinental Cup tie, against Bermuda in Pretoria, and followed this up a fortnight later with an unbeaten 259 for The Netherlands against Canada - an Intercontinental Cup record.

Just for good measure he was also the leading run-scorer in the ODI tri-series involving The Netherlands, Canada and Bermuda.

The final poll results were

  1. Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands) 35.2%
  2. Neil McCallum (Scotland) 28.0%
  3. Eoin Morgan (Ireland) 24.1%
  4. Steve Tikolo (Kenya) 5.9%
  5. Carsten Pedersen (Denmark) 4.0%
  6. George Codrington (Canada) 1.6%
  7. Saleem Mukuddem (Bermuda) 0.8%

ten Doeschate is the second Dutch player to win the poll in successive years, following Bas Zuiderent's success in 2005.