The International Cricket Council has decided to give host nation Malaysia an automatic qualification to the upcoming Under 19 Youth World Cup 2008, thus increasing the number of Asian associate nations from one to two. Either the Asian qualifying winner, or runners-up in the case of Malaysia finishing first, will qualify for the event. Malaysia had finished as the runners-up to Nepal in all of the last three Under 19 ACC Cups.

As a result, only one while one European associate nation will qualify for the tournament. Ever since 1998 there have been at least two European qualifiers, so an extra edge will be added to the 2007 European qualifying tournament (involving Denmark, Ireland, The Netherlands and Scotland) to be held in Belfast.