Cricket Canada have named their 13-man squad for a trip to South Africa beginning in late November and continuing into December. Though there are many familiar faces, three regular Canadian players have been left out due to work or club commitments. Captain John Davison, Ian Billcliff, and Geoff Barnett all are unavailable for the tour and are thus not on the squad. Stalwart George Codrington, who was arguably Canada's best player in the WCL Americas Championships, will captain the side through the tour. Canada will contest 2 ODIs each against Holland and Bermuda, as well as a 4-day Intercontinental Cup match against Holland. A positive for Canada is the return of the opening pace tandem of Henry Osinde and Umar Bhatti who were not included in the Americas Championship squad last summer. These young bowlers will do wonders for the Canadian attack, especially in the Intercontinental Cup match.

Canadian selectors also named a 30-man Winter Training Squad who will be on winter fitness and training programs. The squad for the January tour to Kenya (which includes the WCL Division I tournament) will be selected from this list, and most likely the World Cup squad as well. Barnett, Billcliff, and Davison are on this list, and one has to expect that they will be selected if they are available.

South Africa Squad
George Codrington
Qaiser Ali
Desmond Chumney
Sandeep Jyoti
Sunil Dhaniram
Don Maxwell
Abdool Samad
Ashish Bagai
Asif Mulla
Kevin Sandher
Umar Bhatti
Henry Osinde
Sanjay Thuraisingham