Norway are presented with the Division 2 trophy

Norway defeated Jersey by 49 runs in the Second Division Final at New Anniesland on Wednesday to take the title and make sure of promotion to the First Division.

Norway were always in the driving seat after openers Sameer Sachdev (61) and Zaheer Ashiq (59) set them up with a first-wicket stand of 115, and eventually made 250 for seven in their 50 overs. Tom Minty was the pick of the Jersey bowlers with four for 59.

Jersey's reply began confidently enough, but with Waheed Aamir taking four for 28 they were unable to carry their effort on, and were dismissed for 201. Opener Ian Crocker was top-scorer with 38, while Minty contributed an unbeaten 37.

Elsewhere, Germany defeated Gibraltar by 96 runs to take third place, and Guernsey took fifth with a 61-run victory over France.

Israel received the Spirit of Cricket Award, while Player of the Tournament was Guernsey's Lee Savident, with 199 runs, including 136 on the final day, and 6 wickets.