The ICC has confirmed the 2007 ICC Twenty20 World Championship in South Africa will involve not only the 10 Full Members but also the two leading Associate sides.

Those two teams will be decided at next January's ICC World Cricket League Division One in Kenya that involves Bermuda, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, the Netherlands and Scotland.

Mr Sonn said: "This decision gives an added context to the World Cricket League and provides our leading Associate sides with a massive incentive in Kenya.

"The two teams that qualify will have an opportunity to showcase themselves on both a national and global level, something that should provide a massive boost for their own development programs."