The UAE has been awarded the right to host the 12-team ICC World Cup Qualifier (formerly ICC Trophy) in 2009. Four years later the same event will be hosted by Scotland.

In between these events, the ICC World Cricket League Division One will bring together the top six Associate Members. This event will be hosted by The Netherlands in 2010 while the host for the 2014 event is still to be confirmed. Among the Members still in the frame to host this event are Ireland and Namibia.

'In total we have six different Associate Members from across four continents hosting significant events over the coming years,' said ICC President Ehsan Mani.

'All of these Members have produced hosting submissions that comply with similar strict criteria to that in place for the ICC Cricket World Cup. That so many Members have had the commitment and support to satisfy these criteria is testament to the increasing profile of the sport beyond its traditional boundaries.'

The decisions taken during the meeting of the ICC Board in Dubai on Sunday are subject to ratification at the ICC's Annual Conference in London in July.